Chamber Concert – The Maxwell Quartet

Tuesday 11th October 2022
7:30 pm until 9:00 pm

Venue: Haddo House Hall

This event has passed

Maxwell Quartet, 2019 (Photo: Simon M Scott)

Event information

In this chamber concert, the Maxwell Quartet perform the final completed string quartets of two great composers: Joseph Haydn, whose Opus 77 no. 2 was written in 1799, and Johannes Brahms, who composed his Opus 67 quartet in 1875. Alongside these two great works is Punctum by contemporary American composer Caroline Shaw, the youngest winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Music in 2013, which draws influence from Johann Sebastian Bach’s St Matthew Passion.

Colin Scobie (Violin I)

George Smith (Violin II)

Elliot Perks (Viola)

Duncan Strachan (Cello)


Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in F major, Op. 77 No. 2

Caroline Shaw: Punctum

Johannes Brahms: String Quartet No. 3 in B flat major, Op 67

You can download programme notes HERE



Other Haddo Arts Events